NJ Car Insurance


Official State of New Jersey Website

All registered private passenger autos are mandated by NJ law to maintain automobile liability insurance, N.J.S.A. 39:6A et seq. Personal auto coverage may be obtained on a voluntary basis or through the New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan. Rate Filing Requirement - N.J.A.C. 11:3-16 Eligible Persons Regulation - N.J.A.C. 11:3-34 Standard/Nonstandard Regulation - N.J.A.C. 11:3-19 Underwriting Guidelines - N.J.A.C. 11:3-35

Get My Insurance Quotes

New Jersey Insurance Information

DUI In NJ?

A DUI in the State of New Jersey will cost you plenty. You will have a loss of license, several fines and surcharges and 9 NJ Car Insurance points for at least 3 years from the conviction date. The only place you will be able to get car insurance is through NJ PAIP. If you are in this situation click here to get NJ Car Insurance quotes.

NJPAIP

If your NJ Divers License is suspended and you have a financed or leased vehicle and are contractually obligated to maintain NJ Auto Insurance you will need a NJPAIP policy with at least one licensed driver listed on your policy. At least your finance company or leasing company wont repossess you vehicle for failure to maintain the mandatory minimum NJ Insurance coverage. If you need help call us at (856) 270-2581 or (888) 287-3449 to get a NJPAIP Certified Producer.

NJ Websites

NJ Car Insurance Documents Required.
NJ Health Insurance
Take an Insurance Knowledge Quiz
NJ Insurance Company Codes
NJ Insurance Agents Get Leads
Insurance Defined from NJPAIP::
NJ Home
NJ People
NJ territory codes for insurance rating
NJPAIP Car Insurance Points System
NJPAIP - 2004 NJ DUI LAW
NJPAIP Speeding Fines
NJPAIP Speeding Tickets
Compare Insurance and save in NJ
E-LOAN
New Jersey Business Insurance
NJ Business
NJ Government
NJ GOVT Departments
NJ Banking
NJ Real Estate
NJ Lottery
Carco Inspection Locations
NJ Transit
NJ Lotto
Assigned Risk Home page
NJ.Com
NJ Flood Insurance Policy
Weird NJ
State Insurance Laws
NJ Government Services
South Jersey congestion progress: DOT News:
Click HERE free NJ Map
NJPAIP.Org
Dental Insurance
The White House
U.S. House of Representatives
U.S. Senate
Office of the Governor
State of New Jersey
N.J. Legislature
N.J. Senators
N.J. Weather
N.J. Army National Guard
N.J. Dept of Personnel
N.J. State Data Center
N.J. State Police
N.J.TPA
Workforce NJ Public Information Network
NJ State Surplus Property
GovEngine.com
Firstgov.gov
Car Insurance Blog
NJ Health Insurance
Small Business Health Insurance
Auto Insurance Agents leads program
NJ Insurance Scoring

Finding the best NJ Car Insurance coverage and lowest prices for auto insurance deals is not that difficult to shop for. Rates vary widely from company to company. To help make shopping, comparing rates and saving money on your insurance easier, we provide free NJ auto insurance comparison rates 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Get competitive non biased help and free quotes from our consumer comparison rating service any time day or night, over the Internet. Spend a couple of minutes answering a few questions about yourself, your driving record, vehicle information and insurance needs. Our licensed car insurance specialists will tell you how much their company would charge you for an annual premium for your automobile insurance, in addition to rate comparisons from other major New Jersey auto insurers including most household name brand insurance companies in your specific NJ zip code.

NJPAIP Advice

Getting yourself out of the NJ high or NJ assigned risk driver pool category is going to take a little time. You may need to consider the following, cleaning up a bad driving record and paying your bills on time such as mortgage payment or personal loans. And some factors will fade with time. Most insurance companies rate a driver with no points for three years as a good or preferred risk. But there are a few things you can do to cut high risk auto insurance costs now! Consider driving an older auto or used car to help personal finance and dropping collision and comprehensive coverages. Or, if you can accept the risk, carry lower amounts of other standard coverages. And don't forget that shopping online is a great way to access assigned risk automobile insurance NJPAIP certified producers and companies that serve Local Consumers in our area.

Consumer Extras Section

NJ Car Insurance Quotes

Get your New Jersey Car Insurance or NJ Home Insurance quote started even if it is 3 A.M. in the morning. You should think about naming your NJ Group Health Insurance as your P.I.P primary and save yourself some money and have better medical coverage in case you need to have medical treatment after an accident.

NJ Insurance Links

NJPAIP NJ High Risk Car Insurance direct to quote form


NJ Car Insurance Quotes

NJ Insurance Consumer Resources Online Help

NJ Car Insurance is among the most expensive in the United States. Spend a little time and save yourself and your family some money. At NJCarInsurance.Org we will provide you with the online tools and information you need to maintain the appropriate NJ Auto Insurance coverages. An educated NJ Insurance consumer is a happy money saving consumer.

To obtain the best rates you need continuous coverage and have your complete driving history, you could visit the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission near you or
order your NJ DMV Drivers abstract for the past 5 years here for a small fee and review your NJ Driver License history.
Whether or not you carried NJ auto insurance coverage continuously over the past several years will affect your ability to get a NJ voluntary car insurance policy now. That's because the insurance industry assumption is that you've either been driving without coverage (that is real bad!!) or had your policy canceled by the previous insurance company (not too good either!!). In fact if you were canceled for not paying your premium that was expected by your NJ insurance company you will have to go through the NJPAIP (New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Plan). This is also known as the NJ high risk or NJ assigned risk car insurance program. If this is the case and or you have been declined or denied coverage elsewhere go to www.njpaip.com for help and quotes.

NJ Car Insurance Rate Quotes.

Enter Your NJ ZIP Code:

.:NJ DUI Penalties and its consequences

New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Help-NJ High Risk Car Insurance available if you are not eligible for coverage in the NJ Voluntary Insurance Market.

New 2004 DWI law- 2004 revised DWI Statute in New Jersey

Motor vehicle violations can cost you. You will have to pay fines in court or receive points on your drivers license. An accumulation of too many points, or certain moving violations may require you to pay expensive surcharges to the N.J. MVC Division of Motor Vehicles or have your license suspended. Don't give up! for motor vehicle violations.

When your driver's license is in jeopardy or you are facing thousands of dollars in fines, DMV surcharges and NJ car insurance increases, you need excellent legal representation. The least expensive attorney is not always the answer. information on traffic offenses we can be retained to represent people. Our website also How to get details on jail terms for traffic violations and car insurance eligibility points. Car insurance companies increase rates or drop customers based on moving violations.

The following is the new DWI law in New Jersey with all amendments as of April, 2004 N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 Driving While Intoxicated 39:4-50. (a) Except as provided in subsection

(g) of this section, a person who operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant's blood or permits another person who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug to operate a motor vehicle owned by him or in his custody or control or permits another to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more by weight of alcohol in the defendant's blood shall be subject:

(1) For the first offense: (i) if the person's blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher but less than 0.10%, or the person operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, or the or more of the following chemical compounds: acetone and acetate, amyl nitrite or amyl nitrate or their isomers, benzene, butyl alcohol, butyl nitrite, butyl nitrate or their isomers, ethyl acetate, ethyl alcohol, ethyl nitrite or ethyl nitrate, ethylene dichloride, isobutyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol, methyl alcohol, methyl ethyl ketone, nitrous oxide, n-propyl alcohol, pentachlorophenol, petroleum ether, propyl nitrite or propyl nitrate or their isomers, toluene, toluol or xylene or any other chemical substance capable of causing a condition of intoxication, inebriation, excitement, stupefaction or the dulling of the brain or nervous system as a result of the inhalation of the fumes or vapors of such chemical substance. Whenever an operator of a motor vehicle has been involved in an accident resulting in death, bodily injury or property damage, a police officer shall consider that fact along with all other facts and circumstances in determining whether there are reasonable grounds to believe that person was operating a motor vehicle in violation of this section. A conviction of a violation of a law of a substantially similar nature in another jurisdiction, regardless of whether that jurisdiction is a signatory to the Interstate Driver License Compact pursuant to P.L. 1966, c.73 (C. 39: 5D-1 et seq.), shall constitute a prior conviction under this subsection unless the defendant can demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence that the conviction in the other jurisdiction was based exclusively upon a violation of a proscribed blood alcohol concentration of less than 0.08%.

If the driving privilege of any person is under revocation or suspension for a violation of any provision of this Title or Title 2C of the New Jersey Statutes at the time of any conviction for a violation of this section, the revocation or suspension period imposed shall commence as of the date of termination of the existing revocation or suspension period. In the case of any person who at the time of the imposition of sentence is less than 17 years of age, the forfeiture, suspension or revocation of the driving privilege imposed by the court under this section shall commence immediately, run through the offender's seventeenth birthday and continue from that date for the period set by the court pursuant to paragraphs

(1) through (3) of this subsection. A court that imposes a term of imprisonment for a first or second offense under this section may sentence the person so convicted to the county jail, to the workhouse of the county wherein the offense was committed, to an inpatient rehabilitation program or to an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or other facility approved by the chief of the Intoxicated Driving Program Unit in the Department of Health and Senior Services. For a third or subsequent offense a person shall not serve a term of imprisonment at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center as provided in subsection (f).

A person who has been convicted of a previous violation of this section need not be charged as a second or subsequent offender in the complaint made against him in order to render him liable to the punishment imposed by this section on a second or subsequent offender, but if the second offense occurs more than 10 years after the first offense, the court shall treat the second conviction as a first offense for sentencing purposes and if a third offense occurs more than 10 years after the second offense, the court shall treat the third conviction as a second offense for sentencing purposes.

(b) A person convicted under this section must satisfy the screening, evaluation, referral, program and fee requirements of the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse's Intoxicated Driving Program Unit, and of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers and a program of alcohol and drug education and highway safety, as prescribed by the chief administrator. The sentencing court shall inform the person convicted that failure to satisfy such requirements shall result in a mandatory two-day term of imprisonment in a county jail and a driver license revocation or suspension and continuation of revocation or suspension until such requirements are satisfied, unless stayed by court order in accordance with the Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey, or R.S. 39:5-22. Upon sentencing, the court shall forward to the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse's Intoxicated Driving Program Unit a copy of a person's conviction record. A fee of $100.00 shall be payable to the Alcohol Education, Rehabilitation and Enforcement Fund established pursuant to section 3 of P.L. 1983, c.531 (C. 26: 2B-32) to support the Intoxicated Driving Program Unit. (c) Upon conviction of a violation of this section, the court shall collect forthwith the New Jersey driver's license or licenses of the person so convicted and forward such license or licenses to the chief administrator.

The court shall inform the person convicted that if he is convicted of personally operating a motor vehicle during the period of license suspension imposed pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, he shall, upon conviction, be subject to the penalties established in R.S. 39:3-40. The person convicted shall be informed orally and in writing. A person shall be required to acknowledge receipt of that written notice in writing. Failure to receive a written notice or failure to acknowledge in writing the receipt of a written notice shall not be a defense to a subsequent charge of a violation of R.S. 39:3-40. In the event that a person convicted under this section is the holder of any out-of-State driver's license, the court shall not collect the license but shall notify forthwith the chief administrator, who shall, in turn, notify appropriate officials in the licensing jurisdiction. The court shall, however, revoke the nonresident's driving privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this State, in accordance with this section. Upon conviction of a violation of this section, the court shall notify the person convicted, orally and in writing, of the penalties for a second, third or subsequent violation of this section. A person shall be required to acknowledge receipt of that written notice in writing. Failure to receive a written notice or failure to acknowledge in writing the receipt of a written notice shall not be a defense to a subsequent charge of a violation of this section. (d) The chief administrator shall promulgate rules and regulations pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L. 1968, c.410 (C. 52: 14B-1 et seq.) in order to establish a program of alcohol education and highway safety, as prescribed by this act.

(e) Any person accused of a violation of this section who is liable to punishment imposed by this section as a second or subsequent offender shall be entitled to the same rights of discovery as allowed defendants pursuant to the Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey. (f) The counties, in cooperation with the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse and the commission, but subject to the approval of the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse, shall designate and establish on a county or regional basis Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers. These centers shall have the capability of serving as community treatment referral centers and as court monitors of a person's compliance with the ordered treatment, service alternative or community service. All centers established pursuant to this subsection shall be administered by a counselor certified by the Alcohol and Drug Counselor Certification Board of New Jersey or other professional with a minimum of five years' experience in the treatment of alcoholism. All centers shall be required to develop individualized treatment plans for all persons attending the centers; provided that the duration of any ordered treatment or referral shall not exceed one year. It shall be the center's responsibility to establish networks with the community alcohol and drug education, treatment and rehabilitation resources and to receive monthly reports from the referral agencies regarding a person's participation and compliance with the program. Nothing in this subsection shall bar these centers from developing their own education and treatment programs; provided that they are approved by the Division of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse.

Upon a person's failure to report to the initial screening or any subsequent ordered referral, the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center shall promptly notify the sentencing court of the person's failure to comply. Required detention periods at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers shall be determined according to the individual treatment classification assigned by the Intoxicated Driving Program Unit. Upon attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, a person shall be required to pay a per diem fee of $75.00 for the first offender program or a per diem fee of $100.00 for the second offender program, as appropriate. Any increases in the per diem fees after the first full year shall be determined pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the person permits another person who is under the influence of intoxicating liquor to operate a motor vehicle owned by him or in his custody or control or permits another person with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher but less than 0.10% to operate a motor vehicle, to a fine of not less than $250 nor more than $400 and a period of detainment of not less than 12 hours nor more than 48 hours spent during two consecutive days of not less than six hours each day and served as prescribed by the program requirements of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers established under subsection (f) of this section and, in the discretion of the court, a term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days and shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of three months;

(ii) if the person's blood alcohol concentration is 0.10% or higher, or the person operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, or the person permits another person who is under the influence of narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug to operate a motor vehicle owned by him or in his custody or control, or permits another person with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.10% or more to operate a motor vehicle, to a fine of not less than $300 nor more than $500 and a period of detainment of not less than 12 hours nor more than 48 hours spent during two consecutive days of not less than six hours each day and served as prescribed by the program requirements of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Centers established under subsection (f) of this section and, in the discretion of the court, a term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days and shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of not less than seven months nor more than one year; (iii) For a first offense, a person also shall be subject to the provisions of P.L. 1999, c.417 (C.39:4-50.16 et al.).

(2) For a second violation, a person shall be subject to a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000.00, and shall be ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 30 days, which shall be of such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances, and shall be sentenced to imprisonment for a term of not less than 48 consecutive hours, which shall not be suspended or served on probation, nor more than 90 days, and shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of two years upon conviction, and, after the expiration of said period, he may make application to the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for a license to operate a motor vehicle, which application may be granted at the discretion of the chief administrator, consistent with subsection (b) of this section. For a second violation, a person also shall be required to install an ignition interlock device under the provisions of P.L. 1999, c.417 (C.39:4-50.16 et al.) or shall have his registration certificate and registration plates revoked for two years under the provisions of section 2 of P.L. 1995, c.286 (C.39:3-40.1). (3)

For a third or subsequent violation, a person shall be subject to a fine of $1,000.00, and shall be sentenced to imprisonment for a term of not less than 180 days in a county jail or workhouse, except that the court may lower such term for each day, not exceeding 90 days, served participating in a drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program approved by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and shall thereafter forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for 10 years. For a third or subsequent violation, a person also shall be required to install an ignition interlock device under the provisions of P.L. 1999, c.417 (C.39:4-50.16 et al.) or shall have his registration certificate and registration plates revoked for 10 years under the provisions of section 2 of P.L. 1995, c.286 (C.39:3-40.1). As used in this section, the phrase "narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug" includes an inhalant or other substance containing a chemical capable of releasing any toxic vapors or fumes for the purpose of inducing a condition of intoxication, such as any glue, cement or any other substance containing one Commissioner of Health and Senior Services in consultation with the Governor's Council on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L. 1968, c.410 (C. 52: 14B-1 et seq.).

The centers shall conduct a program of alcohol and drug education and highway safety, as prescribed by the chief administrator. The Commissioner of Health and Senior Services shall adopt rules and regulations pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L. 1968, c.410 (C. 52: 14B-1 et seq.), in order to effectuate the purposes of this subsection. (g) When a violation of this section occurs while: (1) on any school property used for school purposes which is owned by or leased to any elementary or secondary school or school board, or within 1,000 feet of such school property; (2) driving through a school crossing as defined in R.S. 39:1-1 if the municipality, by ordinance or resolution, has designated the school crossing as such; or (3) driving through a school crossing as defined in R.S. 39:1-1 knowing that juveniles are present if the municipality has not designated the school crossing as such by ordinance or resolution, the convicted person shall: for a first offense, be fined not less than $500 or more than $800, be imprisoned for not more than 60 days and have his license to operate a motor vehicle suspended for a period of not less than one year or more than two years; for a second offense, be fined not less than $1,000 or more than $2,000, perform community service for a period of 60 days, be imprisoned for not less than 96 consecutive hours, which shall not be suspended or served on probation, nor more than 180 days, except that the court may lower such term for each day, not exceeding 90 days, served performing community service in such form and on such terms as the court shall deem appropriate under the circumstances and have his license to operate a motor vehicle suspended for a period of not less than four years; and, for a third offense, be fined $2,000, imprisoned for 180 days in a county jail or workhouse, except that the court may lower such term for each day, not exceeding 90 days, served participating in a drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program approved by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and have his license to operate a motor vehicle suspended for a period of 20 years; the period of license suspension shall commence upon the completion of any prison sentence imposed upon that person. A map or true copy of a map depicting the location and boundaries of the area on or within 1,000 feet of any property used for school purposes which is owned by or leased to any elementary or secondary school or school board produced pursuant to section 1 of P.L. 1987, c.101 (C. 2C:35-7) may be used in a prosecution under paragraph (1) of this subsection.

It shall not be relevant to the imposition of sentence pursuant to paragraph (1) or (2) of this subsection that the defendant was unaware that the prohibited conduct took place while on or within 1,000 feet of any school property or while driving through a school crossing. Nor shall it be relevant to the imposition of sentence that no juveniles were present on the school property or crossing zone at the time of the offense or that the school was not in session. (h) A court also may order a person convicted pursuant to subsection a. of this section, to participate in a supervised visitation program as either a condition of probation or a form of community service, giving preference to those who were under the age of 21 at the time of the offense. Prior to ordering a person to participate in such a program, the court may consult with any person who may provide useful information on the defendant's physical, emotional and mental suitability for the visit to ensure that it will not cause any injury to the defendant.

The court also may order that the defendant participate in a counseling session under the supervision of the Intoxicated Driving Program Unit prior to participating in the supervised visitation program. The supervised visitation program shall be at one or more of the following facilities which have agreed to participate in the program under the supervision of the facility's personnel and the probation department: (1) a trauma center, critical care center or acute care hospital having basic emergency services, which receives victims of motor vehicle accidents for the purpose of observing appropriate victims of drunk drivers and victims who are, themselves, drunk drivers; (2) a facility which cares for advanced alcoholics or drug abusers, to observe persons in the advanced stages of alcoholism or drug abuse; or (3) if approved by a county medical examiner, the office of the county medical examiner or a public morgue to observe appropriate victims of vehicle accidents involving drunk drivers. As used in this section, "appropriate victim" means a victim whose condition is determined by the facility's supervisory personnel and the probation officer to be appropriate for demonstrating the results of accidents involving drunk drivers without being unnecessarily gruesome or traumatic to the defendant. If at any time before or during a visitation the facility's supervisory personnel and the probation officer determine that the visitation may be or is traumatic or otherwise inappropriate for that defendant, the visitation shall be terminated without prejudice to the defendant. The program may include a personal conference after the visitation, which may include the sentencing judge or the judge who coordinates the program for the court, the defendant, defendant's counsel, and, if available, the defendant's parents to discuss the visitation and its effect on the defendant's future conduct. If a personal conference is not practicable because of the defendant's absence from the jurisdiction, conflicting time schedules, or any other reason, the court shall require the defendant to submit a written report concerning the visitation experience and its impact on the defendant. The county, a court, any facility visited pursuant to the program, any agents, employees, or independent contractors of the court, county, or facility visited pursuant to the program, and any person supervising a defendant during the visitation, are not liable for any civil damages resulting from injury to the defendant, or for civil damages associated with the visitation which are caused by the defendant, except for willful or grossly negligent acts intended to, or reasonably expected to result in, that injury or damage.

The Supreme Court may adopt court rules or directives to effectuate the purposes of this subsection. (i) In addition to any other fine, fee, or other charge imposed pursuant to law, the court shall assess a person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section a surcharge of $100, of which amount $50 shall be payable to the municipality in which the conviction was obtained and $50 shall be payable to the Treasurer of the State of New Jersey for deposit into the General Fund. N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14 Operation of a motor vehicle by person who has consumed alcohol but is under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages; penalties Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.01% or more, but less than 0.08%, by weight of alcohol in his blood, shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State or shall be prohibited from obtaining a license to operate a motor vehicle in this State for a period of not less than 30 or more than 90 days beginning on the date he becomes eligible to obtain a license or on the day of conviction, whichever is later, and shall perform community service for a period of not less than 15 or more than 30 days. In addition, the person shall satisfy the program and fee requirements of an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or participate in a program of alcohol education and highway safety as prescribed by the chief administrator.

The penalties provided under the provisions of this section shall be in addition to the penalties which the court may impose under N.J.S. 2C:33-15, R.S. 33:1-81, R.S. 39:4-50 or any other law. N.J.S.A. 39:4-51 Sentence for violation of section N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 must be served; release on work release program A person who has been convicted of a first or second violation of section 39:4-50 of this Title, and in pursuance thereof has been imprisoned in a county jail or workhouse in the county in which the offense was committed, shall not, after commitment, be released there from until the term of imprisonment imposed has been served. A person imprisoned in the county jail or workhouse may in the discretion of the court, be released on a work release program. No warden or other officer having custody of the county jail or workhouse shall release there from a person so committed, unless the person has been released by the court on a work release program, until the sentence has been served. A person sentenced to an inpatient rehabilitation program may upon petition by the treating agency be released, by the court, to an outpatient rehabilitation program for the duration of the original sentence. Nothing in this section shall be construed to interfere in any way with the operation of a writ of habeas corpus, a proceeding in lieu of the prerogative writs, or an appeal. The administrator shall adopt such rules and regulations to effectuate the provisions of this section as he shall deem necessary.